Search This Blog

Monday, March 16, 2009

American Homebrewers Association 10th Annual Lallemand Scholarship!

(This is a repost from by Rob Moline)

Lallemand, the makers of Danstar dry yeasts and Servomyces yeast nutrient,
is proud to sponsor the Tenth Annual Lallemand Scholarship for the World
Brewing Academy's Concise Course in Brewing Technology. The partnership of
Lallemand and the American Homebrewers Association has provided nine
previous winners with what can best be described as a trip to 'Beer Heaven,'
the Siebel Institute! The fact that the scholarship is now ready to award
it's 10th recipient only underscores the value of the AHA/Lallemand
partnership, as both organizations continue to demonstrate leadership in
their common mission, ongoing brewer education, resulting in better beers!.

The scholarship is awarded to a member of the American Homebrewers
Association, and provides full tuition to the World Brewing Academy's
Concise Course in Brewing Technology, held at the Siebel Institute in
Chicago, Illinois, November 2 - 13, 2009, and is valued at USD $3,350. The
winner also receives a USD $1000 stipend to assist with travel and
accommodation while in Chicago, one of America's most exciting and vibrant
cities. .

The famous two-week WBA Concise Course in Brewing Technology will provide
students with a comprehensive knowledge of the brewing process, the dynamics
of brewery operations, and socioeconomic issues affecting the industry.

How to Enter
AHA members may enter the contest by filling out the online form at You will need to know
your AHA membership number, which appears on your AHA membership card and on
the address label of your Zymurgy magazine. If you do not know your
membership number or would like to join, e-mail info at,
call 888-822-6273, or visit the membership page at .

The contest entry forms must be submitted by June 9, 2009. Only one entry
per AHA Member will be accepted. Entries will also be accepted in
registration at the AHA National Homebrewers Conference in Oakland, CA, June
18-20, 2009.

AHA members can get an additional entry in the contest by submitting a
ballot for the AHA Governing Committee election, visit All ballots must be
submitted no later than 11:59 pm Pacific Time, March 31, 2009.

Winner Announced
The drawing for the Lallemand Scholarship will take place at the AHA
National Homebrewers Conference in Oakland, CA during the Grand Banquet on
June 20, 2009. The winner must have a current AHA membership at the time of
the drawing to be eligible.

Scholarship Rules
Members of the AHA Governing Committee, Brewers Association Board of
Directors, staff of the Brewers Association, Siebel, Lallemand, and anyone
who has previously been awarded any scholarship to the Siebel Institute are
ineligible. Awarded courses must be completed within one year. Winners must
provide a written statement on their Siebel experiences to the AHA/Brewers
Association/Lallemand/Siebel. Rights to publication of report and
photographs of the winner are granted to the AHA/Brewers Association, Siebel
and Lallemand.

For more information on the Lallemand Scholarship, visit
American Homebrewers Association Lallemand Scholarship and Danstar, or
contact Rob Moline at danstar at .

More information on the WBA Concise Course may be found at , and a
detailed course catalog of all offerings of the WBA is at .

No comments: